Advertisement - Why am I seeing ads? Report
   
 

Why Is ROBLOX So Slow?

Sort:
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Shokwav is not online. Shokwav
Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Total Posts: 9262
27 Nov 2010 12:47 PM
A Nintendo 64 runs at 67.32 fps max, while ROBLOX only runs at 30 frames max- why? Why is ROBLOX so slow? Is it just ogre?
Report Abuse
pokelover980 is not online. pokelover980
Joined: 12 Jun 2009
Total Posts: 4141
27 Nov 2010 12:50 PM
You try making a block building game that allows for scripting and thousands of moving parts and online multiplayer, and then tell me how successful you are at making it go above 30 FPS.
Report Abuse
xSIXx is not online. xSIXx
Joined: 06 Aug 2010
Total Posts: 9123
27 Nov 2010 12:52 PM
Because ROBLOX is multiplayer? That is why is lags so less in solo than on server.
Report Abuse
Shokwav is not online. Shokwav
Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Total Posts: 9262
27 Nov 2010 12:52 PM
Get out, this has nothing to do with me making anything. I have the privilege to ask questions.
Report Abuse
Shokwav is not online. Shokwav
Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Total Posts: 9262
27 Nov 2010 12:55 PM
@xSix: I measured the fps in solo.
Report Abuse
xSIXx is not online. xSIXx
Joined: 06 Aug 2010
Total Posts: 9123
27 Nov 2010 12:57 PM
@Shok

Because it has better graphics? :p
Report Abuse
TheSquirrel is not online. TheSquirrel
Joined: 23 Aug 2008
Total Posts: 5557
27 Nov 2010 01:00 PM
I imagine that Roblox simply don't have the engineers to make it worth rewriting all their inefficient code. The source code for Roblox is lengthy thus it would take a significantly large amount of time to go through and rewrite - for example - the entire physics engine. Time which would be much better spent on developing more features for the game.
Report Abuse
pokelover980 is not online. pokelover980
Joined: 12 Jun 2009
Total Posts: 4141
27 Nov 2010 01:02 PM
"Get out, this has nothing to do with me making anything. I have the privilege to ask questions. "

Excuse me for being so rude, and let me simply waltz out as though nothing happened.

But seriously, please don't be so rude. I answered your question with a simple response, and I'm sorry if you read it rude, but I had no rude intentions at all.
Report Abuse
idontkno is not online. idontkno
Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Total Posts: 2336
27 Nov 2010 01:14 PM
this doesnt really have anything to do with scripting anyway...
Report Abuse
Aaaboy97 is not online. Aaaboy97
Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Total Posts: 6607
27 Nov 2010 01:15 PM
M1n3cr4f7 runs at over 1,000 FPS if you're on a good computer.
Report Abuse
Aaaboy97 is not online. Aaaboy97
Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Total Posts: 6607
27 Nov 2010 01:16 PM
While ingame, press Ctrl + F1, it opens up a statistics panel.
Report Abuse
Radioaktiivinen is not online. Radioaktiivinen
Joined: 25 Apr 2009
Total Posts: 18629
27 Nov 2010 01:22 PM
Because:
for physics:
-twice physics fps means twice physics lag
-you wouldnt notice the physics fps speedup because the physics replication cant keep up with the ratez...
for graphics:
-Roblox wants their game to be able to run on graphics cards from year 1980
for scripts:
-If they were faster or slower they wouldnt be synced with the physics wich would make problemz
Report Abuse
LPGhatguy is not online. LPGhatguy
Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Total Posts: 4716
27 Nov 2010 01:44 PM
@Radioaktiivinen
For physics:
Twice physics means HALF physics lag.
You WOULD notice the difference, because it would be more efficient!

For graphics:
Making their coding more efficient would make it MORE ABLE to run on a 1980 computer with no graphics card, though that's unlikely.

For scripts:
You don't want them to be synced with the physics, theoretically it would make better use of the processor, and why does that matter? You'd want the physics to update after you make changes using the script.
Report Abuse
Emess is not online. Emess
Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Total Posts: 13307
27 Nov 2010 01:52 PM
I really don't understand. Add like... 10k bricks and you lag through the game. It should be able to withstand 100k bricks at the minimum.
Report Abuse
XlegoX is not online. XlegoX
Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Total Posts: 14959
27 Nov 2010 03:57 PM
Because of scripting being as flexible as it is.

It's really hard to make optimizations to increase the speed of stuff when scripts can jump in an edit pretty much anything at any time.

Many optimizations would definitely cause the game to run far far slower than it does now in some cases where the optimizations "fight" with what people's scripts are trying to do.

The bottom line is it's impossible for the game engine to determine what kind of game a person is trying to make, and what types of things they're going to do to make that type of thing.

Dedicated games like you're talking about can run way faster because the game maker know exactly what they're going to be doing, and can make the engine with all of those assumptions in mind.
Report Abuse
Radioaktiivinen is not online. Radioaktiivinen
Joined: 25 Apr 2009
Total Posts: 18629
27 Nov 2010 04:03 PM
"
For physics:
Twice physics means HALF physics lag.
You WOULD notice the difference, because it would be more efficient!
"


wat? o.e


Report Abuse
NVI is not online. NVI
Joined: 11 Jan 2009
Total Posts: 4673
27 Nov 2010 04:09 PM
If you have a 0.01ms slow-down for every ten bricks you add (very generous, it's probably much more than this), and you're trying to achieve 30fps (so you have 33ms to calculate things per frame), then you're getting a 10ms slow-down at 10k bricks. Now, keep in mind that you also have to process input, play sounds, render everything, render effects, do multiplayer-related stuff, that 33ms looks real small.

If you seriously think you can make a game that can process 100k bricks per frame, then you're insane and just... stupid.

Please, do some math before you throw around uneducated assumptions. My math here is probably totally wrong, but it still makes a good point.
Report Abuse
lieutenant54321 is not online. lieutenant54321
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Total Posts: 1799
27 Nov 2010 04:13 PM
F3 is the stat panel, I haz 11-15 fps on tiny render distance... Well, what can you expect from a netbook?
Report Abuse
oysi93 is not online. oysi93
Joined: 27 Apr 2008
Total Posts: 12469
27 Nov 2010 04:23 PM
I'm in mine craft with 200+ fps. =3

Though mine craft kinda only has 1D physics,
while Roblox has 3D. =O

But as xLEGOx said, it's because with roblox you can make anything.
Though considering the poor fps, I think roblox should unlock a few
functions, don't you?
Report Abuse
Shokwav is not online. Shokwav
Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Total Posts: 9262
27 Nov 2010 04:25 PM
What's the point of allowing them to run on early 1990s and before computers? Those computers can barely handle IE, let alone a game like this. And I will try running some N64 tests with the SM 64 engine.
Report Abuse
ENET is not online. ENET
Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Total Posts: 4820
27 Nov 2010 09:34 PM
@N3 the game shouldn't render more bricks then what is in the players sight. The game can update the physics of all the bricks without rendering them.
Report Abuse
XlegoX is not online. XlegoX
Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Total Posts: 14959
27 Nov 2010 11:29 PM
" the game shouldn't render more bricks then what is in the players sight."

Do you have any idea how slow it would be if it did render all the bricks?

If there's anything it does do it's frustum culling (not drawing things outside of the code of map that your camera is viewing).
Report Abuse
ENET is not online. ENET
Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Total Posts: 4820
28 Nov 2010 03:39 PM
That's what I just said.
Report Abuse
hunter7777 is not online. hunter7777
Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Total Posts: 1002
28 Nov 2010 03:50 PM
Could you use frustum coding on roblox, I mean are they compatable?
Report Abuse
hunter7777 is not online. hunter7777
Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Total Posts: 1002
28 Nov 2010 03:52 PM
*Frustum Culling -Excuse my typo.
Report Abuse
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Page 1 of 2Goto to page: [1], 2 Next
 
 
   
 
Advertisement Report